2

Show More

Welcome to our Year 2 page

 

In Year 2 we continue to build on the key skills the children develop in Year 1.  The Year 2 children enjoy learning through a variety of inspiring themes which encompass their interests when promoting and delivering a rich curriculum.  Our themes give us a hook into exciting writing, books, exploration both indoors and outdoors as well as creative opportunities. In Year 2 we enjoy finding out about people in the past such as Queen Victoria and significant inventors/ explorers.  In Geography we like to find out about different places around the world such as Antarctica and Africa.  The children have more opportunities to represent our school further by being involved with different sports, sporting competitions, the Dance Festival and Music Festival.  

During Year 2 the children become more independent, confident and further develop a self-awareness for their own learning.  By the end of Year 2 the children are ready for the next stage of the journey into Key-Stage 2. Carefully managed transition events and activities help this to be a smooth process for each child.

Meet the Team

Swimming

Mrs V. Tracy

Assistant Headteacher

Fox Class Teacher

Miss Colwell

Hedgehog Class Teacher

Miss N. Goodman

Otter Class Teacher

PSED & Healthy Schools Lead

Miss Ayres

Squirrel Class Teacher

Miss Webb

Badger Class Teacher

Monday - 9.05 - 9.55am - Hedgehog

Tuesday - 9.05 - 9.55am - Badger

Wednesday - 9.05 - 9.55am - Otter

Thursday - 9.05 - 9.55am - Fox

Friday - 9.05 - 9.55am - Squirrel

Outdoor Learning

Monday 30th September - Fox

Tuesday 1st October - Squirrel

Wednesday 2nd October - Hedgehog

Thursday 3rd October - Otter

Friday 4th October - Badger

Monday 21st October - Fox

Tuesday 22nd October - Squirrel

Wednesday 23rd October - Hedgehog

Thursday 24th October - Otter

Friday 25th October - Badger

Monday 18th November - Fox

Tuesday 19th Nobember - Squirrel

Wednesday 20th November - Hedgehog

Thursday 21st November - Otter

Friday 22nd November - Badger

Year 2 News

July 12, 2019

Please reload

Dates for the Diary

Tel: 01702 468461  / office@hamstel-inf.southend.sch.uk   /  Hamstel Road, Southend on Sea, Essex, SS2 4PQ

                  Part of the Portico Academy Trust - opening doors, unlocking potential - www.porticoacademytrust.co.uk

                  Portico House, 59 Ronald Hill Grove, Leigh-On-Sea, Essex, SS9 2JB - 01702 478593

iqm-inclusive-school-award (2).jpg
iqm-flagship-school-award.jpg