2

Show More

Welcome to our Year 2 page

 

In Year 2 we continue to build on the key skills the children develop in Year 1.  The Year 2 children enjoy learning through a variety of inspiring themes which encompass their interests when promoting and delivering a rich curriculum.  Our themes give us a hook into exciting writing, books, exploration both indoors and outdoors as well as creative opportunities. In Year 2 we enjoy finding out about people in the past such as Queen Victoria and significant inventors/ explorers.  In Geography we like to find out about different places around the world such as Antarctica and Africa.  The children have more opportunities to represent our school further by being involved with different sports, sporting competitions, the Dance Festival and Music Festival.  

During Year 2 the children become more independent, confident and further develop a self-awareness for their own learning.  By the end of Year 2 the children are ready for the next stage of the journey into Key-Stage 2. Carefully managed transition events and activities help this to be a smooth process for each child.

Meet the Team

Swimming

Mrs V. Tracy

Assistant Headteacher

Fox Class Teacher

 

Miss A. Webb

Badger Class Teacher

Miss L. Crowe

Hedgehog Class Teacher

Miss B. Ayres

Otter Class Teacher

Miss E. Flynn

Squirrel Class Teacher

Year 2 will swim during the Autumn Term in small groups of no more than 10 children.

Monday – Badger Class

Tuesday – Hedgehog Class

Wednesday – Otter Class

Thursday – Fox Class

Friday – Squirrel Class

Outdoor Learning

Year 2 News

Monday 28th September - Fox

Tuesday 29th September - Squirrel

Wednesday 30th September - Hedgehog

Thursday 1st October - Otter

Friday 2nd October - Badger

Monday 19th October - Fox

Tuesday 20th October - Squirrel

Wednesday 21st October - Hedgehog

Thursday 22nd October - Otter

Friday 23rd October - Badger

Monday 16th November - Fox

Tuesday 17th November - Squirrel

Wednesday 18th November - Hedgehog

Thursday 19th November - Otter

Friday 20th November – Badger

 

Monday 7th December - Fox

Tuesday 8th December - Squirrel

Wednesday 9th December - Hedgehog

Thursday 10th December - Otter

Friday 11th December – Badger

Dates for the Diary

Tel: 01702 468461  / office@hamstel-inf.southend.sch.uk   /  Hamstel Road, Southend on Sea, Essex, SS2 4PQ

                  Part of the Portico Academy Trust - opening doors, unlocking potential - www.porticoacademytrust.co.uk

                  Portico House, 59 Ronald Hill Grove, Leigh-On-Sea, Essex, SS9 2JB - 01702 987890

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
iqm-inclusive-school-award (2).jpg
iqm-flagship-school-award.jpg