1

Show More

Welcome to our Year 1 page

 

In Year 1, we build upon the key skills and learning experiences from Reception.  We take the elements of English and Mathematics that are introduced in the Early Years and develop them more extensively throughout Year 1.  We recognise that Year 1 is different from Reception and we aim to manage this transition in a gradual staged approach, allowing the children to adapt. Our children are happy, settled, confident, creative and eager to learn.  The best transitions are built on familiarity but also some careful change.
During the first half term children work on focused activities linked to the Maths and English Curriculum. The afternoon operates in a more play-based way with activities linked to theme. Children also have access to the Year 1 gardens at this time. We work over time on building independence in learning, by increasing the number of focused tasks based around topics and themes that excite and engage our children.  
As the year progresses, our classroom environments, daily routines and timetable evolve to ensure that the children leave Year 1 with the firm foundations required for future learning and a readiness for Year 2.

Meet the Team

Swimming

Mr J. Sayer

Dragonfly Teacher

Computing Co-ordinator

Miss Carmichael

Newt Class Teacher

Mrs Holohan

Heron Class Teacher

Miss Dixon

Frog Class Teacher

Miss R. Carter

Duck Class Teacher

RE Co-ordinator

Monday - 9.55 - 10.45am - Dragonfly

Tuesday - 9.55 -10.45am - Frog

Wednesday - 9.55 - 10.45am - Newt

Thursday - 9.55 - 10.45am - Duck

Thursday - 10.45 - 11.35am - Heron

Outdoor Learning

Monday 16th September - Heron

Tuesday 17th September - Duck

Wednesday 18th Septemer - Dragonfly

Thursday 19th September - Frog

Friday 20th September - Newt

Monday 7th October - Heron

Tuesday 8th October - Duck

Wednesday 9th October - Dragonfly

Thursday 10th October - Frog

Friday 11th October - Newt

Monday 4th November - Heron

Tuesday 5th November - Duck

Wednesday 6th November - Dragonfly

Thursday 7th November - Frog

Friday 8th November - Newt

Year 1 News

July 12, 2019

May 27, 2019

Please reload

Dates for the Diary

Tel: 01702 468461  / office@hamstel-inf.southend.sch.uk   /  Hamstel Road, Southend on Sea, Essex, SS2 4PQ

                  Part of the Portico Academy Trust - opening doors, unlocking potential - www.porticoacademytrust.co.uk

                  Portico House, 59 Ronald Hill Grove, Leigh-On-Sea, Essex, SS9 2JB - 01702 478593

iqm-inclusive-school-award (2).jpg
iqm-flagship-school-award.jpg