R

Welcome to our Reception page

At Hamstel Infant and Nursery School our vision is to provide our children a foundation for learning that will prepare them for the rest of their primary education and future success. We strongly believe in ensuring that our children are surrounded by a rich, stimulating environment with a broad and balanced curriculum. All our children are valued as individuals and we encourage each and every child to reach their full potential.

We work from the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum 2021 alongside Development Matters 2021. There are seven areas of learning and development:

 

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

 

Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

 

We use fun and exciting topics to engage and hook the children into their learning. The year is split into six key themes and each week begins with a high quality book chosen to match out topic. During the Reception day your child will take part in short adult-led sessions including RWInc phonics, maths, handwriting and topic followed up with sort group activities to further embed their learning. The children also have the opportunity to engage in child initiated activities following their own interests.

Meet the Team

PE Days

Mrs V. Bryant & Mrs D. Bird

Kingfisher Class

Miss S Whiston

Peacock Class

 

Mrs L Jenkins

Woodpecker Class

 

Miss M Parmenter

Owl Class

Monday – Owl

Tuesday – Peacock

Wednesday – Kingfisher

Friday – Woodpecker

Outdoor Learning

​Monday 11th October - Peacock

Tuesday 12th October - Owl

Wednesday 13th October - Kingfisher

Friday 14th October - Woodpecker

Monday 8th November - Peacock

Tuesday 9th November - Owl

Wednesday 10th November - Kingfisher

Friday 11th November - Woodpecker

Monday 29th November - Peacock

Tuesday 30th November - Owl

Wednesday 1st December - Kingfisher

Friday 2nd December - Woodpecker

Useful websites